The Oratory of the Sacred Heart was built on the grounds of St. Mary’s Dominican Convent in 1918 and dedicated to the Sacred Heart in 1919.
It commemorates the many local Irishmen who fought and died in the Great War. From 1920-36, it was hand-painted by Sr Concepta Lynch, a Dominican nun at St. Mary’s and the result is a stunning example of the Celtic Revival style.
Click *here* to read the leaflet which highlights the events taking place during October and November 2019 to mark the publication of a new book Divine Illumination, published by New Island Books and an exhibition at dlr LexIcon to showcase the remarkable story of this unique work of art.
This initiative is supported by the Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht under the Community Strand of the Decade of Centenaries Programme.
For more information about the new publication Divine Illumination click *here*.