New Near FM series on the poem and songs of the Irish revolution: ‘The Indignant Muse’.

Between January and March 2019 Near FM will broadcast a new documentary series entitled The Indignant Muse, a ten part radio series exploring the poetry and songs of the Irish revolution adapted from the acclaimed anthology of the same name, edited by Terry Moylan and published by Lilliput Press. The series is produced by Paul Loughran and is presented by Terry Moylan, and follows the same chronological order as the book, incorporating interpretations of the songs and poems featured in the book, along with discussions of the songs and their authors in the context of the time in which they were composed.Those featured in the series include Manus O’Riordan, Daoiri Farrell, Sean Ó hEarcáin, Barry Gleeson, Jerry O’Reilly, Eoiní Maidhcí Ó Súilleabháin, Fergus Russell, Máire Níc Chróinín, Antaine Ó Faracháin, Ronnie Drew, Terry Moylan, Helen Diamond, Ulick O’Connor, Frank Harte, Luke Cheevers, Dominic Behan, Clancy Brothers, Ciaran Murray, The Dubliners, Brendan Behan, Liam Weldon, Damien Dempsey, Jimmy Crowley, Irene Martin, Michael Halliwell and David Miller, The Black Brothers, Dorothee Meyer Holtkamp, Paul Robeson, Sean Dunphy, Dick Hogan, Tom Lenihan, Niall Tóibín, and Tim Dennehy.

The series will be broadcast every Friday at 6.30pm from 18 January until 22 March on Near FM 90.3, and can be livestreamed here (for listeners outside north Dublin). Episodes are also available to stream or download after broadcastThe Indignant Muse is supported by the Broadcasting authority of Ireland Sound and Vision scheme.

Leave a Comment